A Spirituality blog from our Community

From Miroslav Matavka, Chaplaincy Assistant:

This week I went for a short trip to Munich, the capital city of the Free State of Bavaria, which is the largest and oldest state in the Federal Republic of Germany, and also the most Catholic one. As many other catholic feast days, Corpus Christi is a public holiday there. It is also still celebrated on the Thursday and so, when I was there, people were telling me about their plans for their extra day off. This made me think then about the solemnity of Corpus Christi and what it means for me. As a child in another traditionally Catholic country, Slovakia, I remember taking part in Eucharistic processions across the village. The priest holding the Monstrance with the Eucharist, would walk on flowers that local children would be throwing around before him. The whole village would follow and sing and pray loudly. I used to just toddle along at the back, chatting with friends – fine memories…

Now as a grownup the celebration of the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ reminds me more of my times spent in adoration in front of the Blessed Sacrament: times that me and Jesus get together for some quality time in peace and quiet, without any fanfare or flowers thrown around. Even when surrounded by others it feels like there is only me and him there. We talk about stuff, we listen to each other,… We simply cherish this moment we could spend together!

It is special when we get together with Sabine and others on Mondays for our Rosary and Adoration. It was very special for instance during the Hyde Park vigil with the Pope in 2010. There were thousands of people kneeling in front of the Eucharist and even to many of those for whom it was just a piece of bread in fancy monstrance it felt spiritually enriching.

I believe that God is there in this piece of bread. And I believe that He wants me to draw on Him when we meet. And oh, do I need to draw on Him!!!

What are your thoughts?

Tag Cloud

