A Spirituality blog from our Community

From Miroslav Matavka, Chaplaincy Volunteer:

Last week I went for a drink with a work colleague and we came to the topic of my volunteering with the chaplaincy. He knows that I have to leave work earlier on some days to do some shopping for a seminar or to teach bread making on Fridays. Sometimes in the office I might complain about being too busy at the chaplaincy having to clean up after others. He was rather curious about my motivation  and naturally, he wants to know what I get out of it.

When he asked me that, I could not really find the answer. First I did not really know myself and second I did not know how to explain it to him. In my colleague’s perception there has to be some reward for everything we are doing, and this should be something that you could put price on. So if I am not being paid, I should for instance be at least making sure that all this volunteering looks good on my CV and  gets me good references for my future job.

Well, I would hope that any volunteering looks good on a CV. But still I do not think that this is why am I trying to work around the University chaplaincy. I wish to think that it has something to do with the theme of this Sundays readings. I wish to think that it is something that God called me to do and that God is the one who will reward me for all my work. I don’t want think about my life as Job, or that man’s life on earth is nothing more than pressed service. And even if it is, it is that kind of service that Paul describes  – I have made myself the slave of everyone so as to win as many as I could.

We all share this duty. We are called to fulfill our purpose that God prepared for us. And we could be sure that God will help us on the way to achieve this. We just have to have faith in Him and do our best. I like the passage in the gospel as well that says that in the middle of all the healing and preaching and so on, Jesus “went off to a lonely place and prayed there”. So if we feel like we loosing the connection, or struggle to find the answer to – what do I get out of this? – we should find ourselves a lonely place and just pray. Then we can just get up and go to do what we are here for.

Good luck in your journeys this week and enjoy the ride!

What are your thoughts?

Tag Cloud

