A Spirituality blog from our Community

From Libby Holderness, Chaplaincy Administrator:

I have a problem with drinking. A long-term health condition means that my body is fantastic at retaining water, so I often find myself almost full with liquid for quite long periods of time, and strange as it may sound ‘forget to drink’. Sometimes this forgetfulness lasts too long and my body starts reacting adversely; as a consequence, I carry water around with me at all times in case I need an emergency top-up. At those times of quenching my thirst, I am really aware of the intense taste, sweetness and cool refreshing power of the liquid as it quickly travels down my throat.

It’s moments like these that I remember John 7:37-38

“On the last and greatest day of the festival, Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, “Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them”.

It is all too easy to forget to drink of God, e.g. by not reading our Bibles, taking time out to listen, praying with God, serving others… – and we become spiritually parched. But the refreshing, inviting coolness and balm that we receive when we return reminds us of what we have been missing.

What are your thoughts?

Tag Cloud

